

M. Gianni Infantino President, FIFA FIFA Strasse 20, PO Box 8044 Zurich, Switzerland

21 June 2023

Dear M. Infantino,

Re: Afghanistan Women's National Team

We are writing to you as Parliamentarians in the legislatures of the United Kingdom, Australia, Portugal, and Italy, inspired by the <u>recent call to action</u> from Khalida and Malala, in support of the Women's National team of Afghanistan.

When the Taliban regained power in the country in 2021, it immediately banned women's representation in sports, meaning that the women of the national teams, from the senior teams down to the youth teams, were denied the chance to represent their country at international level, in addition to the total abolition of women's sports at a grassroots level.

Article 3 of the FIFA statutes states:

"FIFA is committed to respecting all internationally recognised human rights and shall strive to promote the protection of these rights."

Furthermore, Article 22 of the FIFA ethics code states the following:

"Persons bound by this Code shall not offend the dignity or integrity of a country, private person or group of people through contemptuous, discriminatory or denigratory words or actions on account of race, skin colour, ethnicity, nationality, social origin, gender, disability, language, religion, political opinion or any other opinion, wealth, birth or any other status, sexual orientation or any other reason."

With the Afghanistan Women's Senior Team currently in exile in Australia, and the Development side in the United Kingdom, we are writing as Parliamentarians from the respective legislatures to request that FIFA stand by their statutes and commit to supporting the preservation of the Afghan women's freedom to play football.

With this year being a World Cup year, co-hosted by Australia, the time for action is now.

Yours sincerely,

Malala Yousafzai

-Malala Yousotzai Khalida Popal

Khalida Popal

Julie Elliott MP

Debbie Abrahams MP	Rushanara Ali MP	Fleur Anderson MP
(UK)	(UK)	(UK)
Tonia Antoniazzi MP	Hannah Bardell MP	Senator Catryna Bilyk
(UK)	(UK)	(AUS)
The Rt Hon. Baroness	Bernardo Blanco MP	Baroness Blower
Blackstone (UK)	(PT)	(UK)
On. Laura Boldrini	Ben Bradshaw MP	lan Byrne MP
(ITA)	(UK)	(UK)
Carla Castro MP	Wendy Chamberlain MP	Sarah Champion MP
(PT)	(UK)	(UK)
Senator Claire Chandler (AUS)	Joanna Cherry KC MP (UK)	Lord Clark of Windemere (UK)
The Rt Hon. Jeremy Corbyn	Joana Cordeiro MP	Senator Dorinda Cox
MP (UK)	(PT)	(AUS)
Tracey Crouch MP	Alex Davies-Jones MP	Dame Caroline Dinenage MP
(UK)	(UK)	(UK)
Allan Dorans MP	Flick Drummond MP	Colum Eastwood MP
(UK)	(UK)	(UK)
Clive Efford MP	Stephen Farry MP	João Cotrim de Figueiredo MP
(UK)	(UK)	(PT)
Lord Foster of Bath	Vicky Foxcroft MP	Rosário Gamboa MP
(UK)	(UK)	(PT)
Preet Gill MP	Patrícia Gilvaz MP	Mary Glindon MP
(UK)	(PT)	(UK)
Patrick Grady MP	Sarah Green MP	Lilian Greenwood MP
(UK)	(UK)	(UK)
Drew Hendry MP	Wera Hobhouse MP	Sharon Hodgson MP
(UK)	(UK)	(UK)
Rachel Hopkins MP	Rupa Huq MP	Christine Jardine MP
(UK)	(UK)	(UK)

Dame Diana Johnson MP	Kim Johnson MP	Michelle Landry MP
(UK)	(UK)	(AUS)
lan Lavery MP	Kim Leadbeater MP	Emma Lewell-Buck MP
(UK)	(UK)	(UK)
Baroness Lister of Burtersett (UK)	Sir Tony Lloyd MP (UK)	Angus MacNeil MP (UK)
Seema Malhotra MP	Rachael Maskell MP	Miguel Costa Matos MP
(UK)	(UK)	(PT)
Siobhain McDonagh MP	John McDonnell MP	Baroness Merron
(UK)	(UK)	(UK)
Carol Monaghan MP	António Monteirinho MP	Jess Morden MP
(UK)	(PT)	(UK)
The Rt Hon. Baroness Morris of Yardley (UK)	Helen Morgan MP (UK)	Charlotte Nichols MP (UK)
Senator Deborah O'Neill	Kate Osamor MP	Senator Matt O'Sullivan
(AUS)	(UK)	(AUS)
Taiwo Owatemi MP	Sarah Owen MP	Joana Sá Pereira MP
(UK)	(UK)	(PT)
Graham Perrett MP	João José Pina Prata MP	Carlos Guimarães Pinto MP
(AUS)	(PT)	(PT)
Lucy Powell MP	Anum Qaisar MP	Christina Rees MP
(UK)	(UK)	(UK)
Bell Ribeiro-Addy MP (UK)	Baron Robertson of Port Ellen (UK)	Rui Rocha MP (PT)
Silvia Roggiani	Miguel Santos MP	Pedro dos Santos Frazão MP
(ITA)	(PT)	(PT)
Rodrigo Saraiva MP	Liz Saville Roberts MP	Virendra Sharma MP
(PT)	(UK)	(UK)
Tommy Sheppard MP	Senator David Shoebridge	Jeff Smith MP
(UK)	(AUS)	(UK)

Carla Sousa MP	Zarah Sultana MP	Sam Tarry MP
(PT)	(UK)	(UK)
Baroness Taylor of Bolton	Marta Temido MP	Alison Thewliss MP
(UK)	(PT)	(UK)
Richard Thomson MP	Senator Lidia Thorpe	The Rt Hon. Valerie Vaz
(UK)	(AUS)	(UK)
Christian Wakeford MP	Baroness Warwick of	Catherine West MP
(UK)	Undercliffe (UK)	(UK)
	Philippa Whitford MP	
	(UK)	